A Broken Clock Never Boils

Released September 26, 2022
(subscribe to my newsletter to read the first 8 chapters)


Psychiatrist Claire Rossi seeks cases nobody else can treat—cases like her mother’s, whose misdiagnosis of schizophrenia and subsequent death inspired Claire’s career. Initially infatuated with an influx of seemingly schizophrenic patients, interest turns to terror as their ailments infect her too. She sees and hears a man who grows more violent with every encounter. The analysis and training she’s relied on her whole career fail to explain his presence, leaving only one conclusion: that what haunts her isn’t in her head at all. But maybe that’s just what she wants to believe.

As her symptoms escalate, she’s left with two unsettling clues. Her mother speaks to her in twisted idioms, and a mysterious letter taunts her with a single line:

Enjoy your gifts.

Content considerations: this book includes violence and broad depictions of mental health disorders.

A Broken Clock Never Boils strikes a suspenseful balance between horror and thriller. Fans of Stephen King’s horror and Gillian Flynn’s mystery-thrillers seeking a middle ground between the two authors will feel right at home. It is the first book in the Virulent Nightmare Origins quartet. Like others in the series, it is standalone but takes place in the same universe as the rest of the series. The Virulent Nightmare Origins series will later culminate in a follow-up series that bridges the stories of all of the characters and events.

Paperback is sold via Amazon, IndieBound, and Barnes & Noble. The ebook is available from these retailers:

IndieBound – Buy Local!


Apple Books

Barnes & Noble